Synology C2 Backup: Setting It Up

Synology

Synology recently made their C2 Backup service available worldwide. The C2 backup service requires Hyper Backup, so it is only those of us with a Synology NAS. It backs up the data to a data center in Germany. C2 Backup is a subscription-based service, although you start with a 30-day free trial. I provided a detailed overview of the service here.

If you’ve ever used Hyper Backup, you are familiar with the C2 Backup setup and how it will work. There are limitations around scheduling and versions, depending on the plan you choose.

Setup

If you don’t already have the Hyper Backup package installed, install it then click the icon in the Synology main menu to start it.

Screenshot of the Synology Hyper Backup icon

Once Hyper Backup loads, click the “+” in the lower left to create a new backup task. Then select Data backup task from the backup menu.

Hyper Backup main screen

Data or LUN backup prompt screenshot

Select Synology C2 cloud backup as the backup destination.

Screenshot of the Backu Destinations selection screen.

At this point, you will need to sign-in to a Synology account. These procedures will show the process if you already have an account. If you don’t have an account, you can select Register a Synology account from the login screen.

Synology account login screen

Since you’ve never used Synology C2 backup, you will receive a prompt for a free trial. The only option is to take it. You will be prompted for a credit card and to select a plan. You must cancel before the 30 days is up if you don’t want your credit card charged.

Free trial notification screen

Agree to the terms of service.Terms of service acceptance dialog screenshot

Select the plan you want to use.

Screenshot of the plan selection screen

Enter your credit card information.

Screenshot showing credit card selections

Confirm your choices.

Synology C2 purchase confirmation screenshot

Now give Hyper Backup the authority to access your Synology account.

Screenshot showing Synology C2 approval screen

The default settings are shown. Feel free to change them to suit your needs.

Screeshot showing the default backup settings

I like to use client-side encryption for anything going to the cloud, so I enabled it and entered a password. Optional, but recommended. Be sure to remember the password and save the key file that is generated.

Screenshot of the backup settings screen with client-side encryption enables

Now we get into to meat of the backup configuration. You’ll be prompted to select a directory to contain the backup. This is a directory created in the C2 cloud. The default is unique to the destination (if you have already done backups, it won’t repeat a directory name) and I typically accept it. If you plan to do multiple backups to the C2 cloud, you may want to write down the destination for each backup.

Screenshot showing prompt for directory name

All your shares will be listed. Check the ones that you want to back up. Initially, I recommend starting with one small share just to see how things work. The lock next to a share name indicates it’s an encrypted share and the status, mounted (unlocked) or not mounted (locked). Encrypted share must be unlocked (mounted) at the time the backup runs to back them up. Hyper Backup cannot unlock a locked (unmounted) share during backup. I often put encrypted shares in a separate backup task just to keep things orderly.

Screenshot showing the share backup selection screen

Next, you’ll pick the applications to back up. If the application says Yes in the “Disabled” column, the application will be shut down while it is backed up. The app is only shutdown while it is actually being backed up, not the whole time the backup task is running. If there’s a share listed in the “Shared Folder” column, then that share will be added to the shares selected for backup even if you didn’t pick it on the previous screen. Note: while needed shares are automatically selected for backup, unselecting the app will not unselect the share, even if it was a misclick that you immediately fixed before leaving this screen.

Screenshot show the Hyper Backup application selection screen

Finally, you’ll be prompted to tell Hyper Backup to backup immediately or to wait until the scheduled time.

Screenshot show prompt to backup now.

You will return to the main Hyper Backup screen with the new backup task selected. If you selected yes the backup has started, and the status is displayed.

Screenshot showing the main Hyper Backup screen with our new task selected

Screenshot showing the main Hyper Backup screen with our new task selected

The status will change as the backup progresses.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.