Synology C2 Backup: Web Based Management

Synology

This is the third in my series of articles about Synology C2 Backup. In this article, I’ll cover the web interface for managing your backup and your storage plan subscription. The previous articles included an Overview of Synology C2 Backup and Setting Up Synology C2 Backup.

There are two ways to access the C2 backup website. First, you can open Hyper Backup on your NAS and select any backup task that uses C2. Then click on the Synology C2 link next to “service provider.” The Synology C2 website will open in your default web browser.

Screenshot showing how to access C2 Web through HyperBackup

Alternately, you can go directly to c2.synology.com in your web browser, then click on Sign In located in the top right corner (at least that’s where it is today).

The login screen is displayed (the same one you saw when you first linked your Synology to C2). Log in with your credentials.

Manage Backups

After you log in, your Dashboard will appear. (If you have multiple C2 services they will appear along the top and you may need to select Backup manually.) The left column will have two choices; “Dashboard”, which is the default selection after login, and “Manage Subscription,” which does what it says on the tin. I’ll cover the Dashboard first.

The layout is clean and well organized, providing three main categories of information. If you don’t see the dashboard, then click the Dashboard selection along the left.

Screen shot of the Synology C2 Backup Dashboard

The first section (labeled “1” in the screenshot) shows your total space currently used, along with space allocation for your plan. If you are on a Tier 1 plan the total used is based on what’s on your NAS according to Synology, but more accurately described as the size of your last backup. Past versions are not included in the total used even if they are available to be restored. If you are on a Tier 2 plan then this is the total space actually used, including any past versions still available, but minus any space saved by deduplication.

The second section (labeled “2”) shows how much space is used by each NAS backing up to the account.

The third section (labeled “3”) shows every backup task that uses this C2 account. It helpfully provides the time and duration from the last time that the task ran.

If you hover over a backup task with your mouse two icons will appear to the right (on the same line as that task). The first, a magnifying glass will open a file browser in a new browser window (or tab, depending on your browser settings). This will allow you to browse files in your current and past backups. I’ll cover this in a later article about doing restores from C2.

The second icon, a trash can, does what you would think. It will delete the backup task and all associated data.

Screenshot of the Synology C2 Data Deletion Warning

Manage Subscription

If you click on Subscription on the left, you’ll see the subscription management page.

Screenshot of the Manage subscription tab in the C2 web interface

There are no refunds, so you can’t actually cancel your current plan. I couldn’t find anything that states what happens when you change a plan. For example, downgrading to a plan too small for your current usage seems possible (I stopped just before confirming the change). What I suspect will happen is that any downgrades (1TB to 300MB for example) won’t happen until renewal. This is also in line with their “no refund” policy which makes it the likely path for downgrades. For a space upgrade, Synology gives you the option of upgrading immediately or waiting until the plan comes up for renewal. Synology doesn’t specify billing terms for immediate upgrades, but I would expect the charge is prorated. (I will tinker with various plan changes as my free trial nears the end, but I don’t want to risk shortening my trial while I’m still testing).

If you want to cancel your subscription, select Cancel in the “Next Plan” section. This is better thought of as turning off auto-renewal since the current, already paid for, subscription remains active until its expiration date. Synology will keep backing up data for seven days after your plan expires, then they will delete your data. Synology doesn’t specify how long before they delete the data, so expect it to be gone after seven days, although it may be a little longer. They say in their FAQ: “On the seventh day after expiration, your Synology NAS will stop backing up data to C2, and your backed-up data will be deleted after continued non-payment.”

There’s not much to the web interface for Synology C2 Backup. While the web interface has some nice features, managing the subscription is the only thing that can’t be done directly on the NAS.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.